Canada Post Announces 25 Winners Of The 2022 Awards For Indigenous Students


Awards help support educational goals of First Nations, Métis and Inuit students

Canada Post is honoured to announce the winners of the 2022 Awards for Indigenous Students. Twenty-five First Nations, Métis and Inuit students from across the country have been recognized for their dedication to learning and will receive $2,000 to help support their education.

Recipients of this year’s Awards:

  • Yukon Tannicka Reeves
  • Northwest Territories Cayla Gillis
  • Nunavut Alesha-Elijah Tiglik
  • British Columbia Darryl Gray, Jeremiah Hyslop, Suzie Kimball, Samuel McDonald, Mackenzie Vandale Roode
  • AlbertaCole Crane, Chelsea Garbanewski, Cheyenne Hall, Vanessa Paterson, Jona Sparvier
  • Saskatchewan Michelle Meeches, Colton Pratt, Jacqueline Valois
  • Manitoba Angel Lefebvre
  • Ontario
  • Emily Abrams is from Six Nations, Ont.
  • Tara Hutchinson is from Moose Cree First Nation, Ont.
  • Chett Monague is from Beausoleil First Nation, Ont.
  • Jessica Plain is from Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Ont.
  • Nova Scotia Cynthia Denny
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Crystal Anderson, Madison Bennett, Megan Dicker

Created in 2004, the Canada Post Awards for Indigenous Students are open to all Indigenous Canadian students who have resumed studies after being away from school for at least 12 months and who have completed at least one full year of study. The Awards are granted annually to selected applicants from across the country and winners receive $2,000 in recognition of their efforts.

Applicants are required to submit an essay outlining the obstacles and challenges they have overcome in pursuit of further education. Each year, up to 25 winners across the country are awarded. Since 2004, the Awards have helped 432 students realize their learning goals.

Information on how to apply for an education grant from Canada Post is presented here.

Full qualification details are available at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here