Ontario-Born Songwriter Known For “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” Inducted Into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Eddie Schwartz. Photo courtesy of the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame and Canadian Music Week

Songwriter, musician and industry advocate Eddie Schwartz will be inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) on May 9 during Canadian Music Week (CMW), according to a joint statement from the CSHF and CMW made on April 18.

The CSHF has partnered with CMW, an entertainment festival and conference, to celebrate the induction of Schwartz into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. CSHF founder Frank Davies will present Schwartz with his songwriter induction during CMW’s Canadian Music and Broadcast Industry Awards Gala Dinner on May 9 at the Rebel Entertainment Complex in Toronto. After the gala, inductees are celebrated through exhibitions featuring stories, photos, artifacts, and memorabilia at Studio Bell, home of the National Music Centre, in Calgary.

“The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame is a testament to the astonishing cultural contribution that Canadian music creators have made at home and around the world,” Schwartz said in the statement. “I am humbled, honoured and grateful to have my life’s work recognized and included in its legacy.”

Schwartz is an Ontario-born musician, songwriter and record producer known for writing hit songs like “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” recorded by Pat Benatar, “Don’t Shed A Tear” by Paul Carrack and “The Doctor” by the Doobie Brothers. He’s also known for over 200 other songs recorded and performed by artists such as Joe Cocker, Donna Summer, Rascal Flatts, Meatloaf and more. His songs have been featured in many video games and TV shows as well on Broadway and in movies such as Rock of Ages and the latest installment of Shrek.

“We’re excited to celebrate one of our own, as a founder of the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame and one of the most successful songwriters to come out of Canada,” said Vanessa Thomas, executive director of CSHF, in the statement. “Eddie pursues everything from his heart, whether it’s advocating for the rights of music creators or pouring his talent into songwriting. His passion and commitment to the music industry has inspired countless artists around him, as well as the next generation of music trailblazers.”

Schwartz has won a number of music industry awards including multiple JUNO, BMI and SOCAN Awards as well as PROCAN’s Harold Moon Award. He also served as president of the Songwriters Association of Canada and the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame, co-chair of Music Creators North America, chair of Fair Trade Music International, and served six consecutive terms on the SOCAN Board and Executive Committee before moving to Nashville in 1997, where he graduated from the Leadership Music program in 2000.

Schwartz was appointed as a Member of the Order of Canada in late 2012 and elected in 2017 as the first North American-based president of the International Council of Music Creators (CIAM) headquartered in Paris, representing over 500,000 professional music creators on five continents.

Tickets for the Canadian Music and Broadcast Industry Awards are available for purchase through the Canadian Music Week website here.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here